New Siberia (Russia): archipelago covered in ice


Discover New Siberia, a polar landscape made up of uninhabited islands surrounded by a frozen sea in a very suggestive polar environment.

New Siberia islands

The term islands of New Siberia indicates an uninhabited and icy archipelago for almost the whole year, located in the Arctic sea off the Jakuta coast, between the Laptev Sea in the west and the East Siberia Sea in the east.

The largest island is that of Kotel'nyj, which has an area of ​​almost 12000 km2, followed by the islands of De Long and Ljakhovskij.

It was Jakov Sannikov who first explored them in the early 1800s.

Kotel'nyj, which falls within the autonomous republic of Sacha-Jakuzia in Russia and covers a total area of ​​23,165 square kilometers, is made up of three areas represented by the island of the same name, the Land of Bunge and Faddeevsky island.

On the island of Kotel'nyj there are 130 rivers over 10 km long, the largest being the Balyktach with its 205 km.

New Siberia is the easternmost island of the archipelago of the same name and is one of the largest in the world.

It has a flat conformation and reaches a few tens of meters as an altitude above sea level, the vegetation mainly consists of the tundra.


The climate of this island is polar with very cold winters and very short summers with average temperatures not exceeding 2 degrees Celsius in July.

Precipitation is mostly snowy.

75 000 h.p. The Biggest Nuclear Icebreaker \\ 75 000 л.с. Атомный Ледокол Ямал (July 2022)

Tags: Russia