Persian Gulf: what are the countries


Where the Persian Gulf is located, strategic logistical importance for navigation, list of the states concerned and cities washed by its waters, characteristics of the coast and islands included in the area.

Where is it

The Persian Gulf is a gulf that is part of the Indian Ocean, an area of ​​enormous economic and strategic importance, where the main interests are constituted by the control of the huge oil reserves and the sea routes used for their transport.

What are the countries

The states washed by this gulf are Oman, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, Iraq and Iran.


The major cities bordering the Persian Gulf are Manama, Ras Tannura, Ahmadi and Abadan.


The shallow waters of the sea are calm and flat, with a pleasant temperature and a high level of salinity.

Its coasts are home to mangrove plants and the natural environment is full of coral reefs.

Coastal strip

The coast is low and articulated on the Arabian coast, where the Qatar peninsula and some islands including the island of Bahrain are located, and less jagged on the Iranian coast, where some islets face the coast, among which the largest are Qeshm and Kish, near the Strait of Hormuz, on the border with the Gulf of Oman and therefore the Indian Ocean.


The main ports facing the Persian Gulf are on the Iranian coast and are respectively Bandar-e Abbas, Bandar-e Bushehr, Bandar-e Khomeini, Kuwait on the Arabian coast, Manama on the island of Bahrain, Abadan and Khorramshahr, Iran, and Basra, Iraq, on the Shatt al Arab, which corresponds to the name of the river born from the confluence of the Tigris and the Euphrates, about 60 km upstream of Basra, before flowing into the Persian Gulf.

History of the Persian Gulf explained, Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Oman and the UAE (April 2021)

Tags: Middle East