Scandinavian countries: what they are, what to see in Scandinavia


What are the states, also called Scandinavian countries, that make up Scandinavia, a vast region located in northern Europe.

Tourism in Scandinavian countries

Scandinavia is a region located in northern Europe including Norway, Sweden and Denmark which, united by significant cultural, historical and linguistic ties, recognize themselves as Scandinavian countries that geographically occupy the Scandinavian peninsula.

What to see in Norway

Located in the western part of Scandinavia, Norway is bordered by Sweden to the east, Russia and Finland to the north-east, the Norwegian Sea to the west and the Skagerrak to the south.

The kingdom of Norway also includes the Svalbard islands, very close to the north pole, the island of Jan Mayen and other Antarctic territories such as the island of Bouvet, the land of Queen Maud and the island of Peter I.

In Norway there are very beautiful landscapes to see for their charge of suggestive charm that they manage to instill.

The main cities to see are Oslo which is the capital and Bergen, a characteristic town with an ancient and very picturesque shopping center where you can make original purchases.

Oslo is a multinational city with about 500,000 inhabitants located at the bottom of the Oslofjord fjord which represents an inlet of the Skagerrak, with a landscape around consisting of hills and mountains, numerous lakes including the largest is the Maridalsvannet which also represents an important source of water to supply the population.

The oldest nerve center of Oslo is located north of the fourteenth-century fortress of Akershus, the main street is Karl Johans Gate where there are historical buildings including the Royal palace of the first half of the nineteenth century, the Rococo-style National Theater, the venue of the nineteenth century Parliament and the University dating back to 1851.

Bergen, in second place in Norway by population with 249,000 inhabitants, is located in the county of Hordaland, on the south-west coast of the country, and constitutes the gateway to the fjords of Norway. The most characteristic district of Bergen is 'Bryggen', made up of wooden houses, which extends over the entire surface of the east side of the bay of Vagen.

From the port of Bergen it is possible to sail for a journey to discover the great north by taking a cruise between the fjords and the snow, visiting landscapes full of magic enriched by a unique and unforgettable charm.

It is nice to admire the wall of peaks at the Lofoten islands and the midnight sun in Tromso.

Recommended readings
  • Artimino (Tuscany): what to see
  • Giulianova (Abruzzo): what to see
  • Alessandria (Piedmont): what to see in 1 day
  • Corigliano Calabro (Calabria): what to see in the medieval village
  • San Galgano (Tuscany): what to see

Going north we meet the Finnmark, Norwegian Lapland home of the Sami, continuing you get to North Cape enjoying beautiful visions.

What to see in Sweden

Sweden is an independent kingdom that is part of northern Europe, located in the eastern part of the Scandinavian peninsula.

To the west it borders with Norway, to the north-east with Finland, to the east with the Baltic Sea and the Gulf of Bothnia, to the south-west with the Straits of Skagerrak and Kattegat.

The main cities of Sweden are Stockholm and Gothenburg. Stockholm is the capital of Sweden, divided into eleven municipalities, is a very cultural city for the presence of numerous theaters and museums.

Worth seeing is Drottningholm Castle and the Skogskyrkogården cemetery.

Gothenburg, Gothenburg in Italian, is the second largest city in Sweden by population.

The port of Gothenburg, the largest in Northern Europe, allows fast connections with Frederikshavn, Kiel, Kristiansand and Newcastle.

What to see in Denmark

Denmark is the smaller in size among the states that make up Scandinavia. in addition to being the one located further south.

Denmark, bathed by the Baltic Sea and the North Sea, is formed by the Jutland peninsula, bordering on the south with Germany, and by numerous islands including Sjaelland, Fyn, Vendsyssel-Thy, Lolland and Bornholm.

Historical data confirm that Denmark has always been the controller of every access to the Baltic Sea. Greenland and the Faroe Islands, also part of the Kingdom of Denmark, have a fair degree of autonomy through a federal government.

The capital of Denmark is Copenhagen which means, translated into Italian, Porto dei Mercanti.

Copenhagen, characterized by low houses surrounded by taller buildings, is home to an important port, as well as an international airport.

10 Days of beautiful Scandinavia (September 2022)

Tags: Europe