United Kingdom: useful information


Useful information about the United Kingdom, which nations and islands it is made up of, history of the flag with the three crosses.

United Nations

Island state of Western Europe with the capital of London, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is made up of four constituent nations, England, Wales, Scotland, whose union forms Great Britain, and Northern Ireland.

Northern Ireland is bordered by Eire in the west and south, while Great Britain is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean in the north, south-west and north-west, North Sea in the east, English Channel in the south and the Irish Sea West.

Minor islands

Some smaller islands are part of the United Kingdom, including the Isle of Wight, the Orkney Islands, the Hebrides and the Shetland Islands.


Although not part of the United Kingdom, the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea and the Channel Islands, also called the Norman Islands, located in the English Channel, depend on the British Crown.

Several overseas territories belong to the United Kingdom, inherited from the old British Empire, which gave rise to the Commonwealth of Nations, where all the countries that were subject, in various ways, to the authority of the British Crown, are represented.


The flag of the United Kingdom, Union Flag, commonly called Union Jack, dates back to 1801, the year in which the Kingdom of Great Britain and the Kingdom of Ireland joined together to form the United Kingdom.

On that occasion, the red Saint Andrew's Cross, symbol of the Order of Saint Patrick, patron of Ireland, was added to the drawing that already represented England, with the red Saint George's Cross, and the Scotland, with the white St. Andrew's cross.

The Difference between the United Kingdom, Great Britain and England Explained (April 2024)

Tags: UK