Sulmona (Abruzzes): que voir dans la patrie des confettis

post-title

Que voir à Sulmona, une ville des Abruzzes située près du parc Majella, itinéraire comprenant la Piazza Garibaldi, la cathédrale San Panfilo et l'usine de confettis.


Informations touristiques

Située dans la zone sud de la Conca Peligna dans les Abruzzes, non loin du parc national de la Majella et à environ 350 mètres d'altitude, Sulmona est une ville célèbre pour la production d'amandes sucrées, au point que certains la considèrent comme la maison de ce bonbon particulier.

Littéralement entourée de verdure, Sulmona est une ville tranquille qui s'étend surtout du nord au sud, ayant été encore limitée par les rivières Gizio et Vella à l'est et à l'ouest.


Du point de vue de l'aspect urbain, le centre habité de Sulmona a un développement en hauteur très limité, en fait les maisons s'avèrent être au plus de deux ou trois étages, étant donné le risque sismique élevé de la zone.

La ville, d'origine très ancienne, a donné naissance à Publio Ovidio Nasone, également connu sous le nom d'Ovidio, né en 43 à. C. est décédé en 18 jours. C., le célèbre poète latin qui a écrit l'ouvrage intitulé "Metamorphosis".

Errant ici et là, dans le centre historique, vous pouvez encore voir quelques traces de l'agencement urbain romain.


Même à l'époque médiévale, Sulmona était un centre important, abritant également une université établie par Frédéric II de Souabe.

Pendant la période de la Renaissance, une longue période de croissance culturelle a commencé, au cours de laquelle la célèbre école d'orfèvrerie sulmonaise est née.

La ville, gravement endommagée par le tremblement de terre de 1706, a connu une nouvelle renaissance à partir des années 1800, lorsqu'elle a recommencé à croître économiquement.


Que voir

En passant par les portes monumentales de la ville, vous entrez dans le centre historique de Sulmona, atteignant la Piazza Garibaldi, qui est l'une des plus grandes d'Italie.

C'est un endroit célèbre, car la Giostra Cavalleresca di Sulmona a lieu chaque année.

Lectures recommandées
  • Giulianova (Abruzzes): que voir
  • Vacances dans les Abruzzes: voyage entre les Apennins et la mer Adriatique
  • Roccaraso (Abruzzes): que voir
  • Abruzzes: excursions d'une journée le dimanche
  • Sulmona (Abruzzes): que voir dans la patrie des confettis

La Fontanone, une œuvre réalisée à partir du calcaire typique de la Majella, se montre bien sur la place, avec les 21 arches de l'aqueduc médiéval monumental de Sulmona de 1256, construit par le fils de Federico II de Svevia.

D'un côté de la place se dresse l'église de Santa Chiara, fondée entre 1260 et 1269, à laquelle est annexé le monastère des Clarisses.

Bien que datant du XIIIe siècle, il ne reste que très peu de la structure d'origine, car le tremblement de terre de 1456 l'a endommagée à tel point qu'il a fallu la reconstruire.

À l'intérieur de l'église sont conservés le retable représentant Santa Chiara dans la gloire, l'œuvre du peintre napolitain Sebastiano Conca, et l'ovale représentant le mariage de la Vierge Marie, œuvre d'Alessandro Salini.

Tous les meubles en bois méritent également l'attention du visiteur, y compris les portes du portail principal, datant de 1671, et les coretti en bois sculptés et décorés à la feuille d'or.

Les espaces qui étaient autrefois réservés au couvent des Clarisses, après avoir traversé une phase d'abandon, étaient destinés à différents usages, la chapelle réservée au culte, ainsi que deux autres salles, est utilisée comme espace d'exposition appartenant au Musée diocésain d'art. Sacra, tandis que trois autres salles sont utilisées comme bibliothèque diocésaine et lieux pour exposer la collection de la galerie d'art municipale.

Sur la même Piazza Garibaldi, il y a aussi l'église de San Filippo Neri, avec un intérieur d'une pièce comprenant quatre autels sur les côtés et une décoration baroque du XVIIIe siècle.


L'église de San Rocco du XVe siècle, également située sur la Piazza Garibaldi, a une seule nef couverte par un dôme circulaire décoré de coffres.

Il faut également visiter l'ancienne église de San Francesco della Scarpa, datant d'avant l'an 1000 et agrandie, apportant des enrichissements importants, par Carlo D'Angiò en 1290.

Retravaillée à plusieurs reprises au cours des siècles suivants, cette église possède encore une splendide façade gothique tardive, avec un beau portail comprenant la lunette décorée de fresques datant du début du XVIe siècle, qui montre l'image de la Vierge à l'enfant positionnée entre San Francesco et la Maddalena.

À l'intérieur de l'église, décorée de stucs par Pietro Piazzoli, l'orgue de 1754, par Domenico Antonio Fedele da Camerino, un crucifix en bois du XVe siècle et des restes de fresques, ainsi que le magnifique retable de la Visitation de Giovanni Paolo Olmo du XVIe siècle.

La cathédrale de San Panfilo, datant de 1076 et construite sur un temple romain préexistant dédié à Apollon et Vesta, a une façade rideau, un cadre très courant dans les Abruzzes au Moyen Âge, sur lequel se trouve un magnifique portail pointu flanqué de deux sanctuaires Style gothique où sont placées les statues de San Pelino et San Panfilo.

L'intérieur de la cathédrale de Sulmona, à trois nefs, possède un presbytère surélevé et un choeur en bois de 1751.


Du côté du presbytère se trouve la chapelle du Saint-Sacrement d'où, par un escalier, on accède à la crypte qui constitue la partie la plus ancienne de la cathédrale, celle où sont conservés les vestiges de San Panfilo, en plus de son buste reliquaire et d'un bas-relief représentant la Madonna delle Fornaci, datant du XIIe siècle.

A voir également le complexe Annunziata, qui comprend l'église, le Palazzo dell'Annunziata avec le musée civique et le clocher de 65 mètres, d'où vous pourrez profiter d'un excellent panorama de Sulmona, datant de la seconde moitié à partir de 1500.

L'église de la Santissima Annunziata, datant de 1320 et reconstruite plusieurs fois au cours des siècles, n'a aujourd'hui aucune trace visible de la disposition d'origine.

L'intérieur à trois nefs, entièrement décoré de stucs, conserve diverses peintures, dont les fresques de Giambattista Gamba, deux œuvres de Giuseppe Simonelli, élève de Luca Giordano, et la Présentation au temple, ainsi qu'une Annonciation, par Lazzaro Baldi , Élève artiste toscan de Pietro da Cortona.

Le "Domus d'Ariane" est situé dans le Musée Civique Palazzo dell'Annunziata, une zone archéologique transformée en musée, où il est possible de voir les restes d'une maison romaine datant de la période entre le 1er siècle avant JC et le 1er siècle après JC.

Un autre lieu de culte à voir à Sulmona est l'église de Santa Maria della Tomba, située au-dessus des bâtiments préexistants, y compris un temple dédié à Jupiter Capitoline et la maison du poète Ovide.

Le nom de l'église est dû au fait qu'une fois, au centre de la nef centrale, il y avait une tombe qui a été éliminée au XVIIe siècle.

Les décorations internes comprennent des fresques du XVIe siècle.

Au cours de l'été, la Giostra Cavalleresca a lieu à Sulmona, un événement qui comprend une procession historique à laquelle ont assisté plus de 400 personnes, y compris des drapeaux de drapeau, des batteurs, des joueurs de chiarine, des dames, des armigers et d'autres personnages en costumes d'époque.

Datant des Souabes, la Giostra Cavalleresca est organisée sur un champ en forme de huit, où sont placées quatre formes en papier mâché desquelles pendent trois anneaux de différents diamètres, à insérer avec les lances.

Au cours de la semaine précédant l'événement, de nombreux événements sont organisés, y compris des présentations gastronomiques de produits typiques.

À Sulmona, célèbre dans le monde entier pour la production de confettis, il est possible de visiter l'usine Confetti Pelino, active depuis 1783 à Introdacqua et transférée par la suite à Sulmona en 1852.

Étiquettes: Abruzzes
Top

Sulmona (Abruzzo): what to see in the homeland of confetti


post-title

What to see in Sulmona, an Abruzzo town located near the Majella Park, itinerary including Piazza Garibaldi, San Panfilo Cathedral and confetti factory.


Tourist information

Located in the southern area of ​​the Conca Peligna in Abruzzo, not far from the Majella National Park and about 350 meters above sea level, Sulmona is a town famous for the production of sugared almonds, to the point that some consider it the home of this particular sweet.

Being literally surrounded by greenery, Sulmona is a quiet town extended especially in length from north to south, having been further limited by the Gizio and Vella rivers to the east and west.


From the point of view of the urban aspect, the inhabited center of Sulmona has a very limited height development, in fact the houses turn out to be at most two or three floors, given the high seismic risk of the area.

The city, of very ancient origins, gave birth to Publio Ovidio Nasone, also known as Ovidio, born in 43 a. C. died in 18 d. C., the famous Latin poet who wrote the work entitled "Metamorphosis".

Wandering here and there, in the historic center you can still see some traces of the Roman urban layout.


Even in medieval times Sulmona was an important center, also home to a university established by Frederick II of Swabia.

During the Renaissance period a long period of cultural growth began, during which the famous Sulmonese goldsmith school was born.

The city, badly damaged by the 1706 earthquake, experienced a new renaissance starting in the 1800s, when it began to grow economically again.


What see

Passing through the monumental city gates, you enter the historic center of Sulmona, reaching Piazza Garibaldi, which is one of the largest in Italy.

It is a famous place, as the Giostra Cavalleresca di Sulmona takes place annually.

Recommended readings
  • Giulianova (Abruzzo): what to see
  • Abruzzo holidays: travel between the Apennines and the Adriatic Sea
  • Roccaraso (Abruzzo): what to see
  • Abruzzo: Sunday day trips
  • Sulmona (Abruzzo): what to see in the homeland of confetti

The Fontanone, a work made using the typical limestone of the Majella, makes a good show of itself in the square, together with the 21 arches of the monumental medieval Aqueduct of Sulmona of 1256, built by the son of Federico II of Svevia.

On one side of the square stands the Church of Santa Chiara, founded between 1260 and 1269, to which the monastery of the Poor Clares is annexed.

Although dating back to the thirteenth century, very little remains of the original structure, as the earthquake of 1456 damaged it to such an extent that it was necessary to rebuild it.

Inside the church are preserved the altarpiece depicting Santa Chiara in glory, the work of the Neapolitan painter Sebastiano Conca, and the oval depicting the Marriage of the Virgin Mary, work by Alessandro Salini.

All the wooden furnishings also deserve the attention of the visitor, including the doors of the main portal, dating back to 1671, and the wooden coretti carved and decorated in gold leaf.

The spaces that were once reserved for the convent of the Poor Clares, after going through a phase of abandonment, were destined for different uses, the chapel reserved for worship, together with two other rooms, is used as an exhibition area belonging to the Diocesan Museum of Art Sacra, while three other rooms are used as Diocesan Library and places to exhibit the collection of the Municipal Art Gallery.

On the same Piazza Garibaldi there is also the Church of San Filippo Neri, with a single room interior including four altars on the sides and an eighteenth-century baroque decoration.


The fifteenth-century Church of San Rocco, also located in Piazza Garibaldi, has a single nave covered by a circular dome decorated with coffers.

Also worth visiting is the ancient Church of San Francesco della Scarpa, dating back to before the year 1000 and enlarged, bringing significant enrichments, by Carlo D’Angiò in 1290.

Reworked several times over the following centuries, this church still has a splendid late Gothic facade, with a beautiful portal including the frescoed lunette dating back to the early sixteenth century, which shows the image of the Madonna and child positioned between San Francesco and the Maddalena.

Inside the church, decorated with stuccoes by Pietro Piazzoli, the organ of 1754, by Domenico Antonio Fedele da Camerino, a wooden crucifix of the fifteenth century and remains of frescoes, as well as the beautiful Altarpiece of the Visitation by Giovanni Paolo Olmo of the sixteenth century.

The San Panfilo Cathedral, dating back to 1076 and built on a pre-existing Roman temple dedicated to Apollo and Vesta, has a curtain facade, a very common setting in Abruzzo during the Middle Ages, on which there is a magnificent pointed portal flanked by two shrines in Gothic style where the statues of San Pelino and San Panfilo are placed.

The interior of the Cathedral of Sulmona, with three naves, has a raised presbytery and a wooden choir from 1751.


On the side of the presbytery there is the Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament from where, through a staircase, you enter the crypt which constitutes the oldest part of the cathedral, the one where the remains of San Panfilo are kept, in addition to its reliquary bust and a bas-relief depicting the Madonna delle Fornaci, dating back to the XII century.

Also worth seeing is the Annunziata complex, which includes the church, the Palazzo dell'Annunziata with the Civic Museum and the 65-meter bell tower, from which you can enjoy an excellent panorama of Sulmona, dating back to the second half from 1500.

The Church of the Santissima Annunziata, dating back to 1320 and rebuilt several times over the centuries, today has no visible traces of the original layout.

The interior with three naves, totally decorated with stuccos, preserves various paintings, including the frescoes by Giambattista Gamba, two works by Giuseppe Simonelli, a pupil of Luca Giordano, and the Presentation in the temple, as well as an Annunciation, by Lazzaro Baldi , Tuscan artist pupil of Pietro da Cortona.

The "Domus of Ariadne" is located in the Civic Museum Palazzo dell'Annunziata, an archaeological area transformed into a museum, where it is possible to see the remains of a Roman house dating back to the period between the 1st century BC and the 1st century AD.

Another place of worship to see in Sulmona is the church of Santa Maria della Tomba, located above pre-existing buildings, including a temple dedicated to Jupiter Capitoline and the home of the poet Ovid.

The name of the church is due to the fact that once, in the center of the central nave, there was a tomb which was eliminated in the seventeenth century.

The internal decorations include 16th century frescoes.

During the summer, the Giostra Cavalleresca takes place in Sulmona, an event that includes a historical procession attended by over 400 people, including flag wavers, drummers, players of chiarine, ladies, armigers and other characters in period costumes.

Dating back to the Swabians, the Giostra Cavalleresca is organized on a field in the shape of eight, where four papier-mâché shapes are placed from which hang three rings of various diameters, to be inserted with the spears.

During the week preceding the event, numerous events are held including gastronomic displays of typical products.

In Sulmona, famous all over the world for the production of confetti, it is possible to visit the Confetti Pelino factory, active since 1783 in Introdacqua and subsequently transferred to Sulmona in 1852.

ITALIAN NONNA Food Market Sulmona & Montepulciano Wine Tour (September 2022)


Tags: Abruzzo
Top